Mission Statement

The Marcello Giordani Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to the help and support of young opera singers to enable them to pursue and achieve their career goals and to succeed on international opera stages.

The Foundation is committed to the promotion of opera in general, and Italian Opera in particular, and to the creation of a new generation of dedicated performing artists who will serve as ambassadors of Italian culture and language through their art throughout the world, and particularly in the U.S.

Under the guidance of Marcello Giordani, the Foundation will establish, organize and sponsor master classes, seminars, and summer programs in the U.S and abroad, as well as provide encouragement, training opportunities, career assistance and financial support, including scholarships and awards, to promising and talented young singers. Many of them will be the great singers of tomorrow, and it is with them that the future of opera resides. It is the goal of the Foundation to contribute actively to their success.



Executive Board

  • Marcello Giordani, President
  • Wilma Giordani, Vice President
  • Roman Ortega-Cowan, Trustee

Advisory Board

  • Comm. Stefano Acunto
  • Gina Crusco
  • Joyce Dutka
  • Edward Cardinal Egan
  • Sanford Fisher
  • Jon Flaute
  • Michael Fornabaio
  • Eva Franchi
  • Bob Funck
  • Gloria Gari
  • Alfred Hubay
  • Sachi Liebergesell
  • Rosanna Mazzia
  • Joan Ortega-Cowan
  • Berardo Paradiso
  • Enzo Pizzimenti
  • Giuliana Ridolfi-Cardillo
  • Tim & Judy Rudderow
  • Fiorella Sampirisi-Beckmeier
  • Louise Simmons
  • Mark Vecchio
  • Countess Lucienne Von Doz
  • Baronessa Zerilli-Marimò

Board of Artists

  • Sarah Billinghurst
  • Steven De Maio
  • Placido Domingo
  • Renée Fleming
  • Jonathan Friend
  • Peter Gelb
  • David Gockley
  • Susan Graham
  • Marilyn Horne
  • Anthony Laciura
  • James Levine
  • Bill Lewis
  • Steven Mercurio
  • Aprile Millo
  • Sherrill Milnes
  • Kathy Olsen
  • Eve Queler
  • Craig Rutenberg
  • Bill Schuman
  • Renata Scotto
  • Barry Tucker